top of page



  North American States

Wolves inhabit about 3 continents; North America, Asia, and Europe. In North America, there are two species of wolf; the gray wolf and the red wolf. Listed below are where wolves live throughout the US.




  • Alaska--7,000-11,000 wolves. Wolves in Alaska rarely encounter humans which protects the numbers. However, Alaskan wolves still are hunted and trapped in the state. Hunting is allowed in Alaska; being considered furbearers. 

  • Michigan--631 wolves. Michigan wolves are classified as a federally endangered species and were relisted in 2022. Currently, many small wolf packs reside in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. 

  • New Mexico--112 wolves. New Mexico is a state where the endangered Mexican wolf is currently being reintroduced. Recently, the Mexican gray wolf population reached 251 in Arizona, Mexico, and New Mexico. 

  • Arizona--84 wolves. Arizona is also a state where the endangered Mexican wolf is being reintroduced. The Arizona reintroduction began in 1998.

  • North Carolina--17 wolves. Critically endangered red wolves are protected in Alligator River National Wildlife Refuge, North Carolina. Recently, a red wolf was killed, leaving their population at only 19 wolves.

  • Oregon--178 wolves. Oregon wolves were delisted in 2021 but gained back their protections in February of 2022. A famous wolf called OR-7 traveled over 1,000 miles across Oregon to California.

  • Wyoming--314 wolves.  Wolves in Wyoming are allowed to be hunted and are state-managed.

  • Wisconsin--972 wolves. Wolves in Wisconsin were delisted in January 2021 and relisted in February 2022. Now, Wisconsin wildlife officials plan to maintain the wolf population by keeping it at around 1,000 wolves.

  • Idaho-- 1,543 wolves. Wolves in Wyoming are allowed to be hunted and are state-managed. 

  • Montana--1,087 wolves. Killing wolves in the state of Montana is also allowed; their populations are also state-managed. 



bottom of page